Waking on 10/24/14 – Musings

When I wake up my clock says it’s 2:22 a.m.  It really isn’t.  I don’t believe in time/time so my clock is set to an approximation of the time everyone else thinks it is.  I know….  I’m wierd.  But 2:22…  does that mean anything?  Who knows about numerology?  I read a book about it once.  It seems to me that the meaning of numbers are sort of progressive just like they themselves are.  For example the number one would indicate a new beginning, and the number 9 the end of a cycle, etc.   I have a friend who told me a story about a time when she looked at the clock and it read 11:11 and what she was doing at the time.  She was creating a new beginning.  I remember being so happy for her.  But 2’s……

Now when I woke up at 2:22, what I was thinking of was that Dr. Brantley who was the first known American to contract the dreaded ebola virus while working in Africa, was flown home to the U.S. in a specially outfitted airplane and then given two of only four known doses of an experimental drug and miraculously recovered from a disease that is wiping out a good portion of the human race on a continent on the other side of the Atlantic.  Now Dr. Brantley is a walking cure himself….  he has donated his blood to a few other unfortunate people who have contracted the disease and the antibodies he has cranked out have saved their lives.   Talk about a destiny…

Now I am thinking about that M.D. they just diagnosed as positive for ebola in NYC.  He went to Africa to treat ebola patients with the Doctors Without Borders organization.  Very noble I must say.  When his tour was up, he came home and stayed away from his job at the NYC hospital where he works treating patients in an ER.  Very smart move.  He did not isolate though.  In fact he took a subway (picture that), and a bus (got the visual?) to a bowling alley (a bowling alley!) in another burrough to have a  game or two.

Now I’m not talking a breezy walk in the park.  I’m talking a sweaty ride on a subway and another on a bus.  I’m picturing bowling balls with those little finger holes that get all slimy inside from the sweat pouring off your hands after you’ve expended a little effort to make that strike or two.  That sweat that you left behind despite holding your hand up in front of the dryer before you put it back in the ball.  Well…   maybe he had his own bowling ball.  Do you think he did?  And how about his shoes?  Does he have bowling shoes?  Did he haul all that stuff with him on a subway and a bus?

So maybe he wasn’t sweating when he was on his way there, but I’m thinking he wasn’t bone dry on the way home….  on that return subway/bus trip home when he later woke to find he had a temp of 103 degrees. How many people do you think he “brushed up against” and swapped a little sweat with?  How do you find them?  I’m being alarmist when “they” are saying there is no cause for such, aren’t I?  Actually, I’m thinking of Dr. Brantley and his antibodies and wondering how fast he can make them.  I’m thinking of Rachel Maddow who reported there are only like 6 hospitals and 12 isolation rooms in all of the USA that could handle an ebola patient.  I am exaggerating (I hope)…  but it did seem miniscule..  the number of beds available to treat ebola patients.  And only one Dr. Brantley.  And all those people on the subway, and in the bowling alley….

I find it all so interesting.  What is happening on this planet, in this time….  Hollywood could not have done it any better!  Well, they did try once….  remember Outbreak? (Dustin Hoffman/Rene Russo)  That seems so confining compared to the possibilities I’m talking about here.

I still want to know what the 2’s mean.  Do tell if you know….  Thanks.

Leave a comment